Where was I in the story? I guess I´ll just talk about my Señora. She is a single woman with two sons who are out of the house now. Hosting kids is her only source of income I think. She is really nice and a fantastic cook. She said that we are eating fish this afternoon, not gunna lie I´m a little scared, but she said "Te gusta eso, te gusta todo mi comida" (or something kinda like that) Which reminds me, one day we had pallea and she told me that there was bones in the meat, and I thought she meant that they were for eating, so not wanting to be rude I crunched those bones down, and tried to not freak out. Later I went to class and asked my tutor, Jose, do you eat the bones in pallea, and he looked at me like I was crazy and said no. I told him the story and he laughed and said that my Señora probably thought wow she is eating the bones while I was thinking wow they eat the bones. Then he proceded to make fun of me for the rest of class, which ps is a blast, he is hysterical. Anyways the second night we were walking home from an excursion and since Marla and I are neighbors, we walk Bethany and JB home first when it´s dark out, however we got hopelessly lost for about an hour walking around in the streets. When I finally got home my Señora started yelling at me about being late, and that I didn´t call her (I didn´t have her number) and dinner was late, and she was worried. It was awful, she was talking so fast I couldn´t understand her, and I was so stressed and scared from being lost that I just started bawling. I tried to hold it in or escape to my room, but she followed me and kept asking if I was drunk and if I get tapas with my friends I have to tell her, and that alcohol isn´t good for me I should only get coca cola. I tried explaining that I was lost not drunk, but she didn´t understand/ listen/ care. Later I think she felt bad she started saying stop crying, why are you crying? my 3 year old granddaughter doesn´t cry Which of course only made things worse. Anyways that was the rough night with my Señora. It´s been better since then, she really is nice, and I talked to Veronica and she said that´s just kinda how Spanish people are, and I just have to be like LISTEN! in order to get them to stop. ¡Mas fuerte! she said. ..., and a guy in the program now, Tom, said his friend had her last year and thought she was super contolling. We get along pretty well, so I want to stick with it, at least for a while and see how things go. I´m sure things will work out, and I´m there for a reason.
The city is beautiful, and I love our excursions! <our tour guide speaks spanish and veronica translates, but he speaks so well, slowly, and with gestures, that I don´t really need a translater. It is good for the language and culture or the city. We found a pretty cool church in the city that we are planning on going to either saturday or sunday night. Britt also made contact with the muslim missionaries here, that we are wanting to work with. We´ll probably help with clothing drives and whatnot. There are some pretty cool girls in the program the I´ve been getting to know which is always fun, we´ve gotten gillato together, and been the awkward americans in the plazas laughing alot. It´s kinda fun to be outragiously american and stop trying to hide it, but it isn´t really safe when we are alone, so groups are fun.
It´s crazy how fast my spanish is coming along, I think I learn the most from my Señora. However in some ways it is almost like starting over. I´m relearning things that I knew as a freshman in high school, but it make more sense now in practice. At night I am so tired because, well, I walk at least three hours a day, and I am constantly thinking in Spanish. I feel as though my brain has turned into complete spanglish.
I still feel as though there is so much to say, but I need to go now. Maybe we can skype this weekend? It´s Britt´s birthday on saturday, and I think we are going to the beach on sunday, so I´m not sure when, but I´ll try to figure it out before the day is over, and I don´t have internet anymore.
¡Sta´Luego!
Megan
No comments:
Post a Comment